EchoStar sold $20.25bn of spectrum. $2.4bn never reached it

The FCC would not approve the AT&T sale until the buyer funded a creditor trust out of the purchase price — to pay for decommissioning the network being sold.

Published Data as of Aug 26, 2026 Sources 4 primary By Yu Han

SATST

In short

EchoStar sold all its 3.45 GHz and 600 MHz spectrum to AT&T on 28 July for $20.25bn. It had $440m of cash at 30 June, down from $2,345m a year earlier.

Means
$5.7bn went straight back out the same day — $3.686bn of 11¾% secured notes redeemed and $2.0bn of 7.75% notes repaid under bankruptcy court authorisation.
Market
The FCC would not approve until AT&T funded a separate $2.4bn Wireless Creditor Trust out of the purchase price. That money never reached EchoStar.
Watch
The trust pays claims for construction, operation, maintenance and decommissioning of the network — including lost future rents. It runs up to five years.

On 30 June 2026, EchoStar had $440 million in cash. Four weeks later it received $20.25 billion in a single wire.

The company sold every 3.45 GHz and 600 MHz spectrum licence it held to AT&T, closing on 28 July. Coverage of the deal ran on that headline number. The 8-K filed the same day carries a different one, and it is the more interesting of the two.

What the filing records

Three things happened at closing, and the order matters.

At closing, 28 July 2026Amount
Proceeds to EchoStar$20,250M
Deposited by AT&T into a trust EchoStar does not control$2,400M
11¾% Senior Secured Notes due 2027, redeemed in full−$3,686M
7.75% Senior Notes due July 2026, principal repaid−$2,000M
Intercompany loan, DISH DBS to DISH Networksatisfied in full, amount not stated

$5,686 million went straight back out28.1% of the proceeds, on the day they arrived. The 7.75% repayment was “authorized by the United States Bankruptcy Court for the Southern District of Texas, which is presiding over DISH DBS’ pending restructuring proceedings.”

That last clause is the frame for everything else. This is a sale being run past a bankruptcy judge.

The number that was not in the headline

Read the $2.4 billion line again. It is easy to skim past as an escrow.

It is not an escrow. It is a creditor trust, and the FCC required it before it would let the licences move.

“As a condition to the Federal Communications Commission’s approval of the assignment of the Licenses to the Buyer … the FCC’s Wireless Telecommunications Bureau required the establishment of a trust fund in the amount of $2,400,000,000 … to pay obligations to persons or entities that may obtain a final judgment, arbitration award or settlement against an EchoStar Party for amounts due in connection with the construction, operation, maintenance, decommissioning and provisioning of goods or services related to communications sites and the communications network associated with the Licenses being sold.”

Formally, the Wireless Creditor Trust. The trustee is Bank of New York Mellon.

The word to stop on is “decommissioning.” A regulator does not write that word into an approval condition unless it expects the network to come down. And it does not size the fund at $2.4 billion unless it expects the people who built and host that network to be owed a great deal when it does.

Where the purchase price actually went

Paid by AT&T $22,650M → to EchoStar $20,250M → to the Wireless Creditor Trust $2,400M ───────── Share that never reached EchoStar 10.6%

From Items 2.01 and 8.01 of the 8-K of 28 July 2026. The filing states the trust 'was funded at the Closing by the Buyer directly using cash that constituted a portion of the purchase price.'

That is the distinction the headline misses. $22.65 billion changed hands. EchoStar got $20.25 billion. The gap is not a discount or a holdback against warranties — it is money set aside for third parties who have not sued yet.

Three tiers, and the third one is the tell

The trust pays in priority order, and the categories are specific enough to be worth reading.

TierWhat it covers
Type AClaims of $100,000 or less, from an initial $200M segregated reserve
Type B-1Outstanding amounts due under agreements related to the covered activities
Type B-2Lost future rents, profits and other future amounts

The $200 million small-claims reserve — 8.3% of the trust — implies a long tail of modest creditors. That is what a wireless build looks like from underneath: site landlords, tower crews, electrical contractors, backhaul providers, equipment installers, each owed a five-figure sum.

Type B-2 is the one that tells you what this is. It is not payment for work done. It is payment for income that will not now be earned — the rent a landowner expected for the next decade on a tower that is about to be dismantled. The FCC priced the wind-down before it approved the sale.

The trust terminates when eligible claims are satisfied, or no later than five years from its effective date, subject to the Bureau’s authority to extend.

Why $440 million of cash matters here

The balance sheet explains why a company sells the asset it spent a decade assembling.

0$M 6500$M 13000$M 19500$M 26000$M Long-term debt and capital lease obligations, non-current LT debt 30 Jun 2025 25402$M Down 37.1% in a year LT debt 30 Jun 2026 15985$M Cash and cash equivalents Cash 30 Jun 2025 2345$M $439.988M — down 81.2% Cash 30 Jun 2026 440$M
EchoStar's cash and long-term debt as reported. Cash fell 81% in the year to 30 June 2026 while the company was paying down debt; the AT&T proceeds arrived four weeks after this balance sheet date. Source: EchoStar quarterly reports via SEC XBRL company facts, retrieved 26 August 2026

Long-term debt came down 37.1% in a year, from $25,402M to $15,985M. Cash came down 81.2%, from $2,345M to $440M. Those two facts are the same fact: the deleveraging was being paid for out of the cash balance, and the cash balance was nearly gone.

Before that, fiscal 2025 carried $12,241 million of impairments across two lines — $5,785M on indefinite-lived intangibles, which is where spectrum licences sit, and $6,456M on long-lived assets held for use. The company wrote the licences down, then sold them.

That sequence is not unusual, and it is not evidence of anything by itself. Air Products wrote off $6.6 billion of what it built in June after cancelling the projects behind it — the same shape, in industrial gas. What distinguishes EchoStar is that a buyer existed, and that the regulator attached a price to letting the buyer have it.

What the $20.25 billion has to do

Start from the balance sheet the proceeds landed on: $25,224 million of total liabilities at 30 June, against $440 million of cash. The wire was 46 times the cash on hand — and 80% of the liabilities.

What arrived, and what was already owed

Total liabilities, 30 June $25,224M Cash, 30 June $440M

Proceeds received, 28 July $20,250M Repaid at closing −$5,686M ───────── Left from the sale $14,564M

Liabilities and cash from the 10-Q for the quarter ended 30 June 2026, four weeks before closing. Repayments from the 8-K of 28 July. Arithmetic, not a forecast — the next 10-Q will show the actual post-closing balance sheet.

Roughly $14.6 billion of the proceeds was not spoken for by the two instruments the 8-K names. What happens to it is the question the filing does not answer, and it is the only question that matters for whoever owns this equity. We are not going to guess at it here. The next quarterly report will show where it went, and that is a short wait.

Worth noting that the borrowing costs this pays down were struck in a different market. An 11¾% secured coupon is not investment-grade pricing, and it is far above what the median large US borrower has been paying this year. Retiring $3.686 billion of it is the clearest thing in this filing.

What would make this wrong

  • We have not read the trust agreement. The Trust Agreement of 26 June 2026 is filed as Exhibit 10.2 and we worked from the 8-K’s summary of it. The tiers, the $200 million reserve and the five-year term are as the 8-K describes them; the mechanics are in the exhibit.
  • “Decommissioning” is a word in a claims definition, not a plan. It establishes what the trust may pay for. It is not a statement by EchoStar or the FCC that any specific site will come down, and we are not treating it as one.
  • The trust’s size is not a forecast of claims. A $2.4 billion fund is what the Bureau required, not what it expects to be paid out. Unclaimed amounts and the trust’s residual treatment are in the exhibit, not in the 8-K.
  • The intercompany loan is unquantified. The 8-K says it was satisfied in full and does not give the amount, so our $5,686 million understates what left at closing.
  • The balance sheet figures predate the closing by four weeks. Cash of $440M and liabilities of $25,224M are as of 30 June. They describe the position the money arrived into, not the position after it arrived.
  • We describe the restructuring only as the filing does. DISH DBS has pending proceedings in the Southern District of Texas and the court authorised one repayment. Anything beyond that — scope, timeline, treatment of other creditors — is not in this document.
  • This is one filing. The licence purchase agreement dates from August 2025 and there is a year of intervening disclosure we have not worked through.

Check it yourself

The 8-K is four pages and the whole story is in Items 1.02, 2.01 and 8.01. The $20,250,000,000 and $2,400,000,000 figures, the three claim tiers, the $200 million Type A reserve, the five-year term and the two repayments are all quoted here in the words the filing uses.

The cash, debt and impairment series come from the SEC’s XBRL company facts endpoint for CIK 1415404 and can be pulled in one request. Every calculation above is written out in full.

We found this filing by scanning 8-K item numbers rather than headlines — 1.02 for terminated agreements and 2.01 for completed dispositions. That method is described in our note on how a number gets verified.

If a figure here does not match a filing, tell us and it will be corrected on the article and on the corrections log, with the date.

Questions this answers

How much did AT&T pay EchoStar for its spectrum?
EchoStar received proceeds of $20,250,000,000 at closing on 28 July 2026, and AT&T deposited an additional $2,400,000,000 into a trust fund mandated by the FCC. The 8-K states the trust was funded by the buyer directly using cash that constituted a portion of the purchase price, so the total consideration was $22.65 billion of which $2.4 billion did not reach EchoStar.
What is the FCC Trust in the EchoStar AT&T deal?
Formally the Wireless Creditor Trust, it is a $2.4 billion fund the FCC's Wireless Telecommunications Bureau required as a condition of approving the licence transfer. It pays parties who obtain a final judgment, arbitration award or settlement against an EchoStar party for amounts due in connection with the construction, operation, maintenance and decommissioning of the network tied to the licences sold.
What did EchoStar do with the money?
The same 8-K records two repayments at closing. Approximately $3.686 billion of 11¾% Senior Secured Notes due 2027, inclusive of early redemption premium and accrued interest, was redeemed in full. Separately $2.0 billion of principal under DISH DBS's 7.75% Senior Notes due July 2026 was repaid with accrued interest. An intercompany loan was also satisfied in full; its size is not stated.
Is DISH in bankruptcy?
The filing says DISH DBS Corporation has pending restructuring proceedings before the United States Bankruptcy Court for the Southern District of Texas, and that the court authorised the repayment of the 7.75% notes. The filing does not describe the scope or status of those proceedings beyond that, and this article does not extend it.
How long does the FCC Trust last?
It terminates when all eligible claims are satisfied, or no later than five years from the trust effective date, subject to the Bureau's authority to extend the term. Claims are paid in three tiers: Type A claims of $100,000 or less from an initial $200 million segregated reserve, then Type B-1 for outstanding amounts due, then Type B-2 for lost future rents, profits and other future amounts.

Verify this yourself

4 primary sources

Every figure on this page came from the documents below — not from summaries, databases, or other articles. Open them and check the numbers.

  1. EchoStar Corporation — Form 8-K, filed 28 July 2026 Items 1.02, 2.01, 8.01, 9.01 · the $20.25bn proceeds, the $2.4bn FCC Trust and its three claim tiers, the $3.686bn redemption and the $2.0bn repayment OPEN ↗
  2. EchoStar Corporation — Form 10-Q for the quarter ended 30 June 2026 Cash of $439.988m, total liabilities of $25,224.0m and long-term debt of $15,985.4m at 30 June 2026 OPEN ↗
  3. SEC XBRL company facts — EchoStar Corporation (CIK 0001415404) The cash, debt, impairment and net income series quoted here, taken as filed OPEN ↗
  4. EchoStar Corporation — SEC EDGAR filing history The 8-K item numbers used to find this filing — 1.02, 2.01 and 8.01 OPEN ↗

Data as of Aug 26, 2026 · figures may be restated by the issuer after this date

Found a number that doesn't match the filing? Confirmed corrections are published on the corrections log, with the date and what changed.

This article is for informational purposes only and is not investment advice. Figures come from public filings as of the date noted above and may be restated later. Verify independently before making any investment decision.