EA's interest bill was $53m. The buyout notes cost $427m.

Electronic Arts went private on 4 August 2026 at $210 a share. The notes financing it carry 6.250% to 8.750% coupons — and EA guarantees them.

Published Data as of Aug 28, 2026 Sources 8 primary By Yu Han

EA

In short

PIF, Silver Lake and Affinity Partners closed their purchase of Electronic Arts on 4 August 2026 at $210 a share. On 252.4m shares that is about $53.0bn.

Means
The financing carries coupons of 6.250%, 7.250% and 8.750%. On the dollar notes alone that is $427m a year. EA's own interest expense last year was $53m.
Market
No share prices here. Nasdaq halted trading after the close on 4 August; EA filed a Form 15 on 14 August. The 30 June quarter is its last public report.
Watch
Nothing further, and that is the point. Deregistration ends the reporting obligation, so no filing will show whether the earnings carry the coupon.

In the year to 31 March 2026, Electronic Arts paid $53 million of interest. It carried $1,486 million of senior notes, a revolving credit facility it had not drawn, and $2,288 million of cash.

The notes that paid for the company carry $427 million of coupon a year, on the dollar tranches alone.

Electronic Arts does not owe them. It guarantees them.

What closed, and for how much

On 4 August 2026, Oak-Eagle MergerCo merged into Electronic Arts, 310 days after the merger agreement was signed. The buyer is a consortium of Saudi Arabia’s Public Investment Fund, private funds affiliated with Silver Lake, and private funds affiliated with Affinity Partners.

Each share became the right to receive $210 in cash. Vested options were cashed out for the spread; vested restricted stock units and those held by non-employee directors were paid the same $210; unvested units became restricted cash awards on the same schedule, with unfinished performance periods deemed earned at the greater of target and actual.

Coverage of the deal put it at $55 billion. We could not tie that figure to a filing. What the filings support is this:

Cash for the common stock

252,387,410 shares × $210 = $53.00bn

Share count is the cover-page figure from EA's Form 10-Q for the quarter ended 30 June 2026, outstanding at 29 July 2026 and filed on 3 August 2026. This is the site's calculation, not a figure disclosed in the merger filings, and it excludes the cash paid for options and restricted stock units — so the true consideration is higher.

The stack

The closing 8-K lists the financing in one place, which is unusual and useful.

InstrumentAmountRateMaturity
First lien term loan B$6,125m + €1,725mfloating, margin not disclosednot stated
First lien term loan A$3,250mfloating, margin not disclosednot stated
Revolving credit facility$500m committedfloatingnot stated
Senior secured notes$2,875m7.250%1 July 2033
Senior secured notes€1,080m6.250%1 July 2033
Senior unsecured notes$2,500m8.750%1 July 2034

That is $14,750 million of dollar debt plus €2,805 million, excluding the undrawn revolver. No exchange rate is applied anywhere in this article, so no combined figure appears.

Against the $53.00bn of cash paid for the stock, the dollar debt is 27.8%. The rest came from what the filing calls “the equity contributions from funds affiliated with the Consortium and cash on hand.” This is a large cheque with leverage attached, not a thin-equity buyout.

Set against what EA carried before, though, the change is total. Its senior notes stood at $1,486 million on 30 June 2026. The dollar debt alone is 9.9 times that.

What the coupons cost

Only the notes can be priced from this filing. The term loans float and the 8-K does not disclose their margins — it says the agreement contains provisions “customary for facilities of this type.” So the figure below is a floor, not the interest bill.

Annual coupon, fixed-rate notes only

$2,875m × 7.250% = $208.44m $2,500m × 8.750% = $218.75m ───────── $427.19m plus EUR 1,080m × 6.250% = EUR 67.50m

Principal × stated coupon. Interest accrues from 8 April 2026 and is payable semi-annually on 1 January and 1 July, beginning 1 January 2027. The floating-rate term loans are excluded because their margins are not in the filing.

Two comparisons make that number mean something, and both come from EA’s own last annual report.

Against what EA used to pay: 8.1 times. Interest expense was $53 million in the year to 31 March 2026.

Against what EA earns: 36.8% of operating income. EA reported $1,162 million of operating income on $7,531 million of revenue — a 15.4% margin — and $887 million of net income.

0$m 300$m 600$m 900$m 1200$m What EA actually paid on $1,486m of senior notes Interest expense FY2026 53$m $2,875m at 7.250% plus $2,500m at 8.750% — term loans excluded New dollar note coupon 427.19$m On revenue of $7,531m, a 15.4% margin Operating income FY2026 1162$m
EA's reported interest expense in the year to 31 March 2026, against the annual coupon on the dollar-denominated notes issued to finance the purchase, and against the operating income the business produced in the same year. Source: EA Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended 31 March 2026 and Form 8-K filed 4 August 2026

The coupon does not land on EA’s income statement — the notes are Parent’s. But the guarantee means the cash that services them can only come from one place.

The money was raised four months early

The notes were issued on 8 April 2026 and interest accrues from that date. The merger closed on 4 August. That is 118 days during which the coupon ran on money that could not yet be spent — about $138 million of accrued interest on the dollar tranches before the company changed hands.

Pre-funding an acquisition is ordinary; Baker Hughes did the same thing this summer, holding bond proceeds for four months before its purchase of Chart Industries closed, and terminated a $14.9 billion bridge it never drew. The difference is the meter. Baker Hughes was carrying investment-grade paper. This carry runs at 7.250% and 8.750%.

What the price says

The same market, the same season, three very different costs of money — and all three are in filings we have read.

BorrowerInstrumentRate
Alphabetten-year notes, August 20265.450%
EA buyoutsecured notes due 20337.250%
EA buyoutunsecured notes due 20348.750%
CoreWeavesecured term loan, August 2026Term SOFR + 5.50%

The unsecured tranche prices 3.30 percentage points above Alphabet’s ten-year and the secured tranche 1.80 points above it. Both are secured or guaranteed by a business with a 15.4% operating margin and $7.5 billion of revenue — a profitable company, priced as a leveraged one, because that is what the capital structure now is.

The redemption terms say the same thing in a different register. Before 1 July 2029 the issuer may redeem up to 40% of each series with proceeds from an equity offering at 107.250%, 106.250% and 108.750% of principal — par plus one coupon, the standard shape. It may also take out up to 10% of each secured series a year at 103%, with unused 2026 and 2027 allowances carried forward one year only.

The last numbers

The mechanics of stopping being public are all in the same document. Nasdaq was asked to suspend trading before the open on 5 August and to file a Form 25. EA then filed a Form 15 on 14 August 2026, terminating registration and suspending its reporting obligations. The existing revolving credit agreement was terminated at closing, and the filing notes it was undrawn immediately beforehand.

Which means the numbers used throughout this article are the last of their kind. The 10-K for the year ended 31 March 2026 is the final annual report. The 10-Q for the quarter ended 30 June 2026 was filed on 3 August 2026 — the day before the merger closed.

Whether $1,162 million of operating income comfortably carries $427 million of coupon plus whatever the term loans cost is a fair question. It is also one no future filing will answer.

What this is not

  • EA is not the borrower. Parent is. EA is a guarantor, and the security is over the assets of Parent and the guarantors. Sentences here that put the coupon next to EA’s earnings are about where the cash must come from, not about whose income statement carries the expense.
  • $427 million is a floor, not the interest bill. Three floating-rate facilities totalling $9,375 million and €1,725 million are excluded because the 8-K does not give their margins.
  • The $53.00 billion is our arithmetic. No filing states an aggregate transaction value. The share count is a cover-page figure from 29 July 2026 and options and restricted stock units — all cashed out at $210 — are excluded, so the real consideration is higher. The $55 billion in press coverage is linked in the sources as a claim we tested, not as a source we used.
  • No currency is converted. The euro tranches are reported in euro. Any dollar total that mixes them would depend on a rate we would have to choose.
  • Nothing here is a view on the price. Whether $210 was a good number for a shareholder is not something these documents answer.

Check it yourself

The consortium, the $210, all six financing instruments and their coupons, the guarantees and the Nasdaq request are in a single 8-K filed on 4 August 2026, linked in the sources. The interest expense, operating income and revenue are in EA’s last 10-K; the senior notes balance, cash and share count are on the face of its last 10-Q.

We have priced other borrowings from the same summer the same way — from the coupon in the filing rather than from a summary — including Alphabet’s nine tranches and the five instruments that funded AI capacity in August.

No share prices appear in this article. Every calculation above is written out in this article’s front matter and re-checked when the site builds.

If a figure here does not match a filing, tell us and it will be corrected on the article and on the corrections log, with the date.

Questions this answers

Who bought Electronic Arts and for how much?
A consortium of Saudi Arabia's Public Investment Fund, private funds affiliated with Silver Lake and private funds affiliated with Affinity Partners, through Oak-Eagle AcquireCo. Each share was converted into the right to receive $210 in cash on 4 August 2026. On the 252,387,410 shares outstanding at 29 July 2026 that is about $53.0 billion for the common stock, before options and restricted stock units.
How much debt was raised to buy EA?
From the closing 8-K: a $6,125m and €1,725m first lien term loan B, a $3,250m first lien term loan A, a $500m revolving facility, $2,875m of 7.250% secured notes due 2033, €1,080m of 6.250% secured notes due 2033 and $2,500m of 8.750% unsecured notes due 2034. That is $14,750m of dollar debt plus €2,805m, excluding the revolver.
Does Electronic Arts owe this debt?
Not as borrower. The credit agreement and the notes are obligations of Parent, the acquisition holding company. Electronic Arts is a guarantor — the filing names the Company among the guarantors that guaranteed the secured notes on a senior secured basis and the unsecured notes on a senior unsecured basis, and the credit facilities are secured by substantially all assets of Parent and the guarantors.
What do the coupons cost each year?
On the fixed-rate dollar notes, $2,875m at 7.250% is $208.4m and $2,500m at 8.750% is $218.75m, so $427.2m a year. The euro secured notes add €67.5m. The term loans float and the 8-K does not disclose their margins, so the full interest bill cannot be computed from this filing. For comparison, Electronic Arts reported interest expense of $53m in the year to 31 March 2026.
Will EA keep filing financial statements?
No. Nasdaq was asked to file a Form 25 to delist and deregister the shares, and EA filed a Form 15 on 14 August 2026 to terminate registration and suspend its reporting obligations. Its last quarterly report, for the quarter ended 30 June 2026, was filed on 3 August 2026 — the day before the merger closed.

Verify this yourself

8 primary sources

Every figure on this page came from the documents below — not from summaries, databases, or other articles. Open them and check the numbers.

  1. Electronic Arts Inc. — Form 8-K filed 4 August 2026 Items 1.01, 1.02, 2.01, 3.01, 3.03, 5.01, 5.02, 5.03, 7.01, 8.01 — the consortium, the $210 merger consideration, the credit facilities, the three note tranches and their coupons, the guarantees, the Nasdaq delisting request and the undrawn existing revolver OPEN ↗
  2. Electronic Arts Inc. — Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended 31 March 2026 Revenue $7,531m, operating income $1,162m, net income $887m and interest expense $53m — the last full year EA reported OPEN ↗
  3. Electronic Arts Inc. — Form 10-Q for the quarter ended 30 June 2026 Filed 3 August 2026, the day before closing: senior notes $1,486m, cash and equivalents $2,288m, stockholders' equity $7,079m, 252,387,410 shares outstanding at 29 July 2026 OPEN ↗
  4. Electronic Arts Inc. — Form 25-NSE filed 4 August 2026 Notification of removal from listing and registration on Nasdaq OPEN ↗
  5. Electronic Arts Inc. — Form 15-12G filed 14 August 2026 Certification and notice of termination of registration — the filing that ends the reporting obligation OPEN ↗
  6. Alphabet Inc — prospectus supplement, 6 August 2026 (424B5) The 5.450% ten-year tranche used as the investment-grade comparison; nine tranches totalling $25.0bn OPEN ↗
  7. CoreWeave, Inc — Form 8-K, 10 August 2026 (Items 1.01 and 2.03) $2.6bn delayed draw term loan at Term SOFR + 5.50%, used as the floating-rate comparison OPEN ↗
  8. 'Electronic Arts Delists From Nasdaq in PIF $55B Take-Private' (news, not a filing) The $55bn figure repeated across coverage. This is a claim this article tests, not a source it relies on — we could not tie $55bn to any filing, and the filings support about $53.0bn for the common stock OPEN ↗

Data as of Aug 28, 2026 · figures may be restated by the issuer after this date

Found a number that doesn't match the filing? Confirmed corrections are published on the corrections log, with the date and what changed.

This article is for informational purposes only and is not investment advice. Figures come from public filings as of the date noted above and may be restated later. Verify independently before making any investment decision.